The Paua Palace

My royal blog, life, opinions and me, it’s all about ME.. Right?

Friday the 13th and Superstitions

Posted by pauaprincess on July 14, 2007

Did you survive it? I did, nothing bad happened, I had the day off which has to be a good thing, …the Prince and I did have something of a squabble but I didn’t know it was Friday the 13th at the time, so does it count? I’ve scanned the headlines and failed to find any Friday the 13th related news, even in oddstuff.My superstitious behaviors have calmed over the years, I think I stopped believing about the time I received a chain letter that I was going to have to send to about 30 people, I wasn’t prepared to put the time and money in, so I tempted the fates, I waited with baited breathe to see what ills would befall me…. nothing happened!

Emboldened, I threw caution to the winds, I approached black cats with abandonment, waltzed under ladders and began opening my umbrella in the porch, I’m still here to tell the tale. I don’t mind that the pipi’s walk on cracks.

There are a few superstitions I continue to observe, when I give a wallet/purse as a gift, I put a coin in it, I don’t give knives to people and I don’t open umbrellas inside the house because well, you could take out someones eye with one! I have to admit that with advancing years, it’s getting harder to blow out all the candles with one puff! I still blow my eyelashes, oh and I never, ever pull out a gray hair, why chance 10 in it’s place?

Some Friday the 13th Facts:

It was on Friday, October 13th 1307 King Philip IV of France had the Knights Templar rounded up for torture and execution on charges of Heresy.

There are 13 Lunar months in the year, women have 13 menstrual cycles.

The last supper hosted 13 people.

The 6th day of the week (Friday, Sunday being the first) was execution day in Ancient Rome and later Britain.

A link for superstitions and what they mean.

So, any superstitious folk out there in cyberspace who want to add their superstitions to the list, be my guest 🙂


Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

 
