The Paua Palace

My royal blog, life, opinions and me, it’s all about ME.. Right?

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Posted by pauaprincess on July 22, 2007

Technorati Tags: , ,

As I expected, waiting for mid afternoon had thinned out the maniacal devotees, dressed as Harry, Ron and Hermione, and despite the hype threatening limited stock (the impetus to pre order) the table was laden with copies for sale to those of us who hadn’t based our entire lives on the release of this book.  Competition for sales meant I got a better price than I would have if I’d lined up and waited for hours to buy it within minutes of the release.  I was able to park, slip in, purchase my copy and head home with minimal fuss.

I am a voracious reader, I can get through a novel of some hundred pages in a matter of hours, consequently I finished the Deathly Hallows just after midnight, having had to stop and cook dinner, eat it and deal with the pipis throughout the day.

From page 1 I was drawn back into the wizarding  world, it was as though the two or so years since the Half Blood Prince didn’t exist, I fell straight back into the tale.  607 pages later I put the book down satisfied.

What more can you ask of an author? All the threads are neatly drawn together and tied up in a bow, all the questions answered and problems solved, things I’d read about previously that seemed at the time inconsequential became pieces of the larger picture and provided the ah ha moments.

The Deathly Hallows is no less exciting than it’s forbears.  Harry’s cynicism has been growing throughout the series, yet he remains faithful to the mission the late Dumbledore gave him.  On the run with Hermione and Ron, the wizarding world in turmoil with undercurrents reminiscent of the racism of the Nazi regime swirling, Harry is public enemy number one to the Ministry of Magic.  He who must not be named, pulls the strings, with eyes and ears everywhere.  It’s a roller coaster ride of emotion and mystery.

J K Rowling gets the last laugh on the religious zealots who have condemned the series, on the basis of it’s occult roots.  It’s a classic tale of Good v Evil and always has been.

I don’t want to give anything away, so I’m not going to talk about who lives, who dies and who turns out to be friend or foe.  Suffice to say, I wasn’t at all disappointed!

Leave a Reply

 
