The Paua Palace

My royal blog, life, opinions and me, it’s all about ME.. Right?

When is a trash can not a trash can?

Posted by pauaprincess on July 30, 2007

Apparently when it belongs to a local authority and is public.

If this isn’t the definition of bureaucratic stupidity, I don’t know what is.  A man in Wellington has received a fine from local government for littering IN A RUBBISH BIN! 

Whilst waiting for a kebab, he decided divest his car of some rubbish which he placed in a public rubbish bin outside the shops, assuming incorrectly as it turns out, that one could put litter in a litter bin.  He duly received a $100 fine from the Wellington City Council for placing domestic litter in a public bin.  Those fines are about to increase to $400.

Apparently the council sifts through the contents of public litter bins and looks for “domestic” litter.  WTF is domestic litter pray tell?  If I grab my mail as I walk up the road and read it, then toss the direct marketing rubbish received as I pass a bin will I get a fine?  Apparently I will!  Where is the incentive not to toss it on the roadside?  I, like the subject of this story, laboured under the apparent misapprehension that rubbish was rubbish and bins were for rubbish!

Hmmm so, if I take an ice block from the freezer at home, give it to my child at the local park and place the wrapper in a bin at the park, it’s domestic litter.  Whereas, if I buy an ice block for my child at the shop and place the wrapper in the bin outside the shop, it’s not?

What really puzzles me is that someone or many someones, employed by the councils, are paid to examine trash!  Professional Garbologists perhaps?  No wonder my council rates (local tax) are so high, you couldn’t pay me enough to do that job!  I’d want a shitload of safety gear and a big, big salary to play in rubbish 8 hours a day, 5 days a week!

I’m too scared to use public bins now!

Technorati Tags: , ,
Leave a Reply

 
