The Paua Palace

My royal blog, life, opinions and me, it’s all about ME.. Right?

How did I get myself into this?

Posted by pauaprincess on September 1, 2007

Have you ever asked yourself that question?  I do constantly and today was one of those days.

I was innocently going about my business this morning, cleaning up the mess the dogs made with the rubbish and making my wee palace visitor ready for Saturday afternoon which will be the princelings 11th birthday.  The phone rang, nothing unusual in that, my phone rings quite often considering my antisocial demeanor. 

Hello

Hi Mum

Hello, why are you ringing me from school?

Mum can you help out with make up for our show?

What? When?

Now ummm and on the days hold on.

Then a mother I vaguely remember from picking up the Princeling after school camp comes on the line and breathlessly tells me how they need extra help and would I be so good as to, the princeling volunteered me to, so on and so forth until I heard myself agreeing just to get some time to think.  Before I knew it, I was down at the school having meetings with mothers I’ve studiously avoided for the past 5 1/2 years.

I’m not a stay at home mother, I rarely participate in school activities, I’ll let the pipis have two dollars for the sausage sizzle, take them to the gala, I’ll even make cocoanut ice or bake a cake for the stalls.  I donate food during food drives, give money for gold coin collections.  I’ve even sold the odd chocolate bar or box of them. 

I draw the line at volunteering for activities, my schedule doesn’t allow it and I minimise my presence at the school in order to avoid being asked to volunteer as a refusal may offend.  But this time they got me.  Wanna know why?

The Princeling has been very, very anti being in this show.  I gather he wanted a bigger role than member of the chorus.  I’ve been telling him for weeks that the chorus is essential and that it would be a very thin production without the group singing, to little effect.  This is the first spark of interest he’s shown in the whole musical production and he WANTS me to be there, helping.  I’ve been pushing him to do it, so I guess I have to put my money where my mouth is.

Does anyone know if I can add the title makeup lady to my list of official accomplishments?

Leave a Reply

 
