The Paua Palace

My royal blog, life, opinions and me, it’s all about ME.. Right?

Theme songs and anthems

Posted by pauaprincess on September 3, 2007

Remember an episode of Ali McBeal where she goes to see a shrink, played by Tracy Ullman, the shrink tells her she needs a theme song, I think she chose “tell him”.  Anyway, my life doesn’t have A theme song, but I can trace my life through songs.  Music does to me, what smells do for others.  Music can transport me back to a time and place.

When Dad left around 74, it was “Daddy don’t you walk so fast”,

The love between the two of us was dyin’
And it got so bad I knew I had to leave
But halfway down that highway, when I turned around
I saw my little daughter running after me, crying

Daddy, don’t you walk so fast, daddy don’t you walk so fast
Daddy, slow down some, ’cause you’re making me run
Daddy, don’t you walk so fast.

It goes on to say he couldn’t bear to break his little girls heart, for the sake of his sweet daughter he went back to her mother because he couldn’t bear to tell her he was leaving for good.  At the time I just heard the chorus.  When I realised what was actually being said, I kind of went off it, my Daddy didn’t come back for me after all.  I know my father hated that song.  When I think about it now, it’s sentimental bullshit.  I heard it on the radio just yesterday and had to turn it off.

Then of course, I had nobody’s child.  For a time, I felt as though I was that neglected child.

After a while, I learned about the charts, ABBA, The Bay City Rollers, Grease etc all came and went in my life for periods.  Disco ugh, I still can’t hear the Bee Gee’s without squirming.

In the 80’s I moved into my teens, no matter what was happening, on Saturday nights at Six we stopped to watch Ready to Roll and find out what the number 1 song was.  My fourth form year bopped to Come on Eileen and I finished school to Band Aids Feed the World.  Duran Duran, Culture Club, Wham, Michael Jackson before he turned freaky, we even persuaded our form teacher to let us sing Girlfriend.

At one prize giving the song had to sing Imagine by John Lennon.  I still remember all the words and find the concept beautiful.

At 15 I went to David Bowie’s “Serious Moonlight Tour” I still have the ticket.  Met a guy there who was 27 and lived up North.  Young American’s and Changes bring back memories of snogging.

When I was flatting I went to U2 and had my first and only experience with LSD.  I could feel the music, it trembled and vibrated inside me.  Pride in the name of Love through to Angel of Harlem with BB King guesting.  Then I got home and discovered that I couldn’t breath unless I though about doing it, my blondeness kept me awake all night, too scared to sleep in case I forgot to breath.  Hence it was my only experience with the stuff.

I got into heavy metal well “hair metal” through my younger brother.  We went to the def Leppard concert where I sat on the shoulders of a tall guy with dreadlocks and nearly touched Rick Savage!  Which prompted my younger brother to yell at me to “get down from there!” in shocked tones.  In turn I introduced my brother to Queen and Meatloaf.  We cried when Freddy died and sat up to watch the concert at Wembley live.

Madonna butchered American Pie and that was about the time I stopped listening to top 40.

Now my computer hard drive is filled with music, gigabytes of the stuff.  I’ve gone back and got all the music that meant something to me.  I have everything from my childhood, knock three times, cab driver, the real American Pie.  I’ve got stuff for my kids, high school musical, Hannah Montana for the Princess, Crazy frog, eminem and green day for the Princeling.

My children love music too.  They dance with me in the kitchen where I keep a micro stereo to play my cds while I cook.  Sing along with me in the car.  I’m pretty confident I have the only kids in the world who know the words to Pink Floyd’s the wall part 1.

But I don’t have Daddy don’t you walk so fast.

One Response to “Theme songs and anthems”

  1. ipod music said

    Hello, nice post. Bookmark it.

Leave a Reply

 
