The Paua Palace

My royal blog, life, opinions and me, it’s all about ME.. Right?

One day in September

Posted by pauaprincess on September 10, 2007

I was in hospital when it happened, the Pipi Princess was born on the 10th and the next day, the world went all to hell. I wondered what kind of insane world I’d brought this baby into.

Because I’d had a C Section, I spent the week in hospital, with very little to do apart from watch events unfold and feed the baby, change the baby and put the baby to bed. Needless to say, by the end of the week I had a pretty good grasp on the situation. Before I’d left the hospital, George W was alluding to Iraq. I knew then, he was going there and I knew then, what I know now. Iraq had nothing to do with 9/11.

September 11th was a horrible tragedy. But, I think of it as a tragedy in terms of what it’s led to:

  • Bush has now killed or wounded more American’s than Al Quaeda did that day.
  • America has never been less safe and less liked

I’m turned off by the rhetoric and the patriotism that surrounds 9/11. The constant reminders. Since 9/11 we’ve had a Tsunami that killed 229,866 people and a scant 4 years later, I don’t see a lot of memorializing for those lives. If a natural disaster doesn’t cut the mustard, what about the Bali Bombings, The Spanish Train Bombings and the London Bombings? Don’t see much editorializing in the American press remembering those victims on the anniversaries, yet 9/11 is rammed down our throats from 1st September onwards.

What’s worse is George W using the victims of 9/11 for nothing more than a money making venture.

I worry about the world my pipi’s are growing up in. A world where you can’t take a bottle of Lourdes water on a plane. A world that has never been more divided along religious lines.

One day in September changed the world for us all. A madman planned financed and executed 2,752 people who were innocently going about their business. 6 years later in the name of 9/11, another madman continues to kill innocent people in their hundreds of thousands, in a country that had nothing to do with 9/11.

Leave a Reply

 
