The Paua Palace

My royal blog, life, opinions and me, it’s all about ME.. Right?

The Real GenX

Posted by pauaprincess on November 21, 2007

We were talking the other day about the generations, according to my Prince, the current generation is the ‘Me” generation, because they don’t do anything, buy anything without considering “what’s in it for me”. 

We of course are generation X officially, known as culturally diverse, apathetic, cynical, disaffected, streetwise loners and slackers, that become the overprotective parents who spawned the “Me” generation, or so it would seem, born between 1964 and 1980, our cultural influence peaked in the 1990’s.  We saw great things happen, like the fall of communism and a man on the moon.

However, I looked it up…

The “me” generation is anyone born in the 70’s, 80’s or 90’s, which would appear to include, my Prince.  I was born in the 60’s, 68 to be precise and thus had two years of the preceeding babyboomer influence.  Like a child born on the cusp of a new birth sign, I embody the influences of both generations, people like me, born between 1964 and 1970 are possibly the only real genXers around.  We aren’t baby boomers and we aren’t the “me” crowd.

So what is a real genXer?

Somebody who respects authority, but rails against the injustices wrought by authority.  We recognise the need for order but also that not all laws are good laws.

Someone who likes to be an individual, but craves the anonymity of the herd at the same time.

Someone who believes personal responsibility is paramount.

Someone who wants their children to experience life as they did, with some freedom tempered by responsibility.

Someone who believes in karma.

Someone who gives as well as takes.

It would seem we are a relatively small number.

2 Responses to “The Real GenX”

  1. panoramia said

    Hi PP — you still alive out there? Haven’t posted in a wee while — and yes, I must be an Xer too!

  2. panoramia said

    A month already … now I am getting worried!
    Or have you had an epiphany?

Leave a Reply

 
